In this challenging economic environment, the Emerging Professionals Program (EPP) is here to provide support to any CSEG member, particularly young professionals with 1 to 5 years of experience. Our goal is to help young professionals develop their soft and technical skills by offering technical talks, networking events, and employability workshops. We recognize that the future of the industry lies within young professionals, and that investing in these people today will allow our geoscience community to flourish in the future.

As a relatively new committee, the EPP is dedicated to bridging the knowledge gap between new graduates and established industry professionals. In the past, the EPP has teamed up with local companies (such as CGG, Divestco, Imperial Oil and LMKR) and sister associations to organize a variety of workshops and social events.

The EPP team, led by Chair Jeffrey Calvert, got off to a strong start this year:

  • In May, the EPP teamed up with Schlumberger to host a lecture on the basic theory of vertical seismic profiles.
  • In August, the EPP volunteered at the Calgary Drop in Center, serving dinner to over 500 struggling Calgarians, and plans to continue doing this bi-monthly. The next volunteer date is October 20th.
  • In September, the EPP collaborated with CGG GeoSoftware to provide a workshop on Seismic Inversion. This gave young professionals much needed exposure to this valuable process.
  • In early October, the EPP hosted the annual Junior Geophysicists Forum (JGF) in conjunction with the CSEG Foundations mentorship kickoff event. The theme of the event was The Modern Geophysicist, and featured a panel of geophysicists with a variety of backgrounds and experience levels who shared their views on the evolving field of geoscience. The panel included Jeff Calvert, Geophysicist in Training at Repsol; Matt Ng, Geophysicist at Painted Pony; Emily Duncan, Senior Staff Geophysicist at Suncor; and Brian Rex, Vice President of Geoscience at Tundra Oil and Gas.

For upcoming events, please check the CSEG calendar or visit We welcome any companies that are interested in providing a workshop or being a part of the EPP. Please contact us at

Special thanks to Daniel Loas and Stephen Kotkas for their hard work and dedication as Past Presidents of the EPP Committee. Additionally, thank you to the EPP committee for all of their efforts: Jeff Calvert, Brian Schulte, Hassan Odhwani, Karl Mome, Elizabeth Ramsey, Sean Lovric, RJ Vestrum, Jennifer Welsh and Chau Huynh.


JGF 2015
Junior Geophysicists Forum 2015.


Share This CSEG Report