Welcome back to work… for all of you who took summer holidays! Judging by how light traffic is heading into downtown Calgary in the morning, I think most people took advantage, and got out of rainy Calgary to sunnier climes. One such group was Paige Snelling and her crew who took advantage of her having the winning bid at the GeoCanada 2010 Silent Auction on the Burgess Shale Geosciences Foundation’s donation of a hike for 12 to check out the fossils and geological formations. (See below for photo of the hikers.) According to Paige, the hike was beautiful and the fossils were great, so if you have an opportunity to take advantage, please do, especially as 2010 sees the 125th birthday of Banff National Park’s founding!


The 2nd Annual CSEG T-Wave Golf Tournament was held on June 14th at the Inglewood Golf & Curling Club. Once again Mother Nature decided to cooperate with us as it was a nice day for golf despite almost every other day in June being rainy.

The best 20 teams won a prize and there were great hole prizes as well as door prizes. The low round that day was by the Synterra team of Tom Byers, Blair Thompson, Tim Little and Chuck Briere shooting 8 under with a 63. We even had a hole in one during the tournament!

We would like to highlight our sponsors for this year’s tournament:

Ace Level – Divestco, Nexen, and SourceX Geophysical Corporation

Eagle Level – Boyd PetroSearch, Command Equipment/GeoTir, CSEG, Earth Signal Processing, Sensor Geophysical

Birdie Level – Apoterra, Arcis Seismic Solutions, CGGVeritas, Lorrnel Seismic Project Management, Maxam North America, Pulse Seismic

Donations were given by: Absolute Imaging, Fugro-Jason, Synterra, WesternGeco

Thank you all for your support!

As with last years tournament, our chosen charitable contribution for the tournament was the Kids in Science Project (KISP). We sold 50/50 tickets and raised $535 with a portion of that coming from John Townsley who won the 50/50 and gave back half his winnings. We will revamp the format next year in order to get above the $1000 mark.

A big thank you goes to all the great committee members who made this tournament such a huge success. We may be new but we are learning every year and are committed to putting on a great event for everyone:

Sponsorship (David Caldwell, Dennis Melrose, Chris McGregor and Christian Sealy-Harrington), Golf (Patty Evans and Vlad Simin), Finance (Susan Thomson), Registration (Ashley Bender and Dick Willott) and Prizes (Sandy Lucas).

Jeff Gautreau helped out the day of the tournament with Registration and 50/50 tickets.

Penny Colton was gracious enough to take unlimited pictures of our event – the pictures were culled and the photos are on the website for those interested.

It was a fun filled packed day and by the feed back we received so far, everyone had a great time. If anyone wants to give additional feedback they are free to email me at Jocelyn_frankow@sensorgeo.com as we are always looking at ways to improve the tournament.
(Grapevine Editor’s note: Jocelyn is being VERY modest in not disclosing... that she was the one who scored a hole in one at the TWave! Congratulations Jocelyn!)


Thanks to all those who attended the 10th Annual Women in Seismic tournament on August 9th. A great day was had by all participants. While the weather cooperated and we had a great day on the course, we may need to get a mosquito repellent sponsor for next year!

Thanks also to our Hole sponsors and those companies who generously donated prizes to the event. Without you we would not be able to put on this event and make sure that each and every person attending goes home with something! 2010 Hole Sponsors: Arcis, Command, Copyseis, Divestco, Sigma Explorations, Earth Signal, Fugro, GeoTir, iSafe Imaging, Kelman, LXL Consulting, Sensor Geophysical, Santos, Surveyza Consulting, Edge Technologies and Target Data. 2010 19th Hole Sponsors: Current Equipment, CGGVeritas, ARAM Systems, Pulse Seismic and Fox Hollow.

Your support also helped us raise funds for Breast and Ovarian Cancer this year through Silent Auction items and Raffle prize draws. We would like to thank Fox Hollow Golf Course for bending over backwards to accommodate our event. From the smartly dressed staff (all in pink!), the chef and his excellent dinner and dessert, to Greg Griffith the head golf pro (also in pink!) – we are really made to feel welcome here! Our 6 hour round seems to just fly by!

Also, thanks to Danielle Harrison who organizes this event and all the other people who put in a lot of time and effort to make sure everyone has a great day.

Here’s looking forward to another 10 years!


Burgess Shale Foundation Hike
Paige Snelling, Amanda Litz, Tom Grieg, Jeff Dickson, Jill Dreger, Colin Edie, Alex Campbell, Chris Podetz, Lorian Glatiotis, Joanna Czarnecki, Sandra Ibarra-Grad and Israel Ibarra Malagon were the 12 hikers who took on the Burgess Shale Hike on August 14th.



Share This Column